Carrots+Cookies=Carrot Cookies!

Yummmmm!!  I’m not gonna brag about how tasty these are.  Buuuuuuuuut, I’m going to, because they are!!!  Carrots, and cookies, and slightly sweet goodness!! Eat these up! And enjoy their health benefits (while getting your veggies)! :)

Here’s the recipe I came up with one bored, experimental day:

Carrot Cookies

1 1/3 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
scant 1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
1 cup rolled oats
1/2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 stick butter (softened)
1/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup honey
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 egg
juice from 1/2  an orange
1 cup shredded carrots
2/3 cup raisins

Mix the dry ingredients (through the cinnamon) in a bowl. Stir well with a whisk.

In a separate bowl, cream together the butter and sugar, add the honey, vanilla, egg, orange juice, shredded carrots, and raisins.

Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture.  Mix until no dry ingredients remain.

Drop by tablespoonfuls on a greased baking sheet.  Place in 350 degree oven for 12-15 minutes until golden brown.

ENJOYYYYY!!!

5 Comments on “Carrots+Cookies=Carrot Cookies!”

  1. Debra says:

    I liked this healthy cookie idea so much I posted it on FaceBook! Thanks for sharing just in time for Valentine’s Day.

  2. Tom Stumpf says:

    Yum! Will you make those when you get home, Reebs?

  3. Bethany says:

    Hey Frecs! These look AMAZING! I sent my mom the recipe. But…I don’t like raisins. Which would be the best substitute to compliment the cookie: dried cherries, cranberries, or apricots?

    • beckarie says:

      ANY of the above would be delicious! Let me know how they turn out Bethany!

      • Bethany says:

        I made them for my nephews. I used cherries and I had a lemon, not an orange so I juiced that. They were almost like little breakfast nuggets!!! Danny said “I LOVE LOVE LOVE the cookies, Aunt B!” And you know 4 year olds tell nothing but the truth. Congrats on a great recipe!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.