Just Rhubarb.

It’s rhubarb season!  And so I’ve gone and made some rhubarb treats.  They’re nothing original, but they are simple, tasty, and fresh from the garden!!!

The first was adapted from a recipe from Bon Appetit magazine.  It can be found here.  The original recipe calls for raspberries, but I left those out.  The other change I added was sprinkle the top with chopped almonds and raw sugar before baking.  This was a delicious and fresh sweet treat!

The second thing I made was very, very similar.  But individual, aaaaaaand gluten-free.  Though I’m not gluten-free, I have attempted to begin baking at times gluten-free.  I have found that gluten-free baked goods do NOT taste good raw….but once they are cooked, they are deeeee-licious!

I used a gluten-free pie crust recipe found on epicurious.  And then for the compote, just boiled down some rhubarb, sugar, cinnamon, and citrus juice until it was thick.  Then made little pies from my imagination.  Let’s just call them mini, gluten-free, rustic, rhubarb tarts.  For a spring-time, Montana potluck, with local vanilla bean ice cream they were quite the hit!

5 Comments on “Just Rhubarb.”

  1. marian stumpf says:

    We have rhubarb waiting for you in our Colorado garden.

  2. Feeding Time says:

    I love rhubarb season. I love everything about rhubarb actually, especially the colour!

  3. Nicole says:

    This looks so divine! I just got some rhubarb in my co-op bin and made rhubarb slushies with vodka. But this post makes me want to go buy some more.

  4. Debra says:

    As usual such amazing photos; you make me want to try the gluten free crust!

  5. Bethany says:

    I made that rhubarb raspberry crostata…I think for mother’s day. I loved it! We put vanilla ice cream on top. Yum!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.