Apple Ginger Cardamom Jam

So, my oven broke.  And since I’m living in a so-called “developing” country, and eeeevvverrrrything takes longer to get done, it might be awhile before I can post anything that requires an oven.  SADness.

Soooooooo, I decided to can, since I have a plethora of jars.

Has anyone out there made apple jam before?  With an abundance of apples in these parts, I figured why not give it a try.  I know it’s not your typical fruit to be used in jam, but it actually turned out quite delightful!  And paired with cream cheese on whole-grain, homemade bread?  You can’t beat it.

Apple Ginger Cardamom Jam

*Note: this recipe doesn’t make very much…about enough for 4-5 small mason jars.  If you wish to make more, double it!

6 cups grated, peeled apples
Juice of one lemon
2 cups sugar (or more if you prefer it more sweet)
3 tsp ginger (more if you want more kick)
15 green cardamom seeds

Place peeled, grated apples in pot with lemon juice, sugar, grated ginger and cardamom pods. Cook all on medium-high heat for about 25-30 minutes, or until you get a nice jam-ish set. The temperature should be around 240 degrees.

When slightly cooled, place in prepared, sterilized jars, and following hot water bath canning procedures.

5 Comments on “Apple Ginger Cardamom Jam”

  1. Tes says:

    I have been thinking of what to do with 2 kg of apple in my fridge as we have to leave for Bangkok this weekend. Thanks for your recipe, now I know what to do with them.

  2. Debra says:

    Love the pictures of apples. It’s getting hard to find good ones in the Northwest (unless you buy produce from Argentina), but I wonder if I use this recipe on apricots later this season would it still work? Or is there pectin in apples that makes the end result like jam?

    • beckarie says:

      Ooooh, Debra, I think this would be great with apricots! I’m not sure how the pectin levels in apples compare to apricots…but if it’s less, you could always add a little pectin! Let me know if you do it and how it turns out!!!

      • I really do have this in my book to try for apricots here, if it would only stop raining and warm up we might get some. I saw people still wearing winter coats the other day. . . .

  3. Greta says:

    …and this recipe is soooo good on oatmeal! And toast!


Leave a Reply

