A Sunday Morning Scene

Sometimes I just randomly create things.  And they often turn out quite great taste good.  But most times they are never to be repeated again or for that matter, even documented.

Sunday morning I woke up late, and with the short bit of sun we had in the morning, I went out and gave some love to my garden.  It’s coming along slowly…but with less sun these days, it’s not as happy as it is the other six months during the dry season.  Though, I still do have some carrots, onions, lettuce, broccoli, and beets slowly but surely coming up.  After a bit of gardening, I was hungry for something healthy and sweet.  I made this.  What is it, you may ask?

Well, the day before I threw some ingredients into a bowl (mainly mashed banana, oats, spices, flour, honey, etc.) and baked it up.  The bars/muffins/bread as they turned out to be were quite delicious and not too sweet.  So, Sunday morning rolled around and I enjoyed them for breakfast.  Then I made a smoothie with frozen banana, peanut butter, cinnamon, ground flaxseed, fresh ginger root, and milk.  Midway through enjoying the muffin bars, I went a little crazy and poured some of the smoothie on top.  I do these things.  These weird little things that most people never know about.  But now you do.  It was delicious I must say.  Happy Sunday (and now happy Monday, and happy Tuesday, and happy Wednesday)!

3 Comments on “A Sunday Morning Scene”

  1. Debra says:

    It’s fun to hear confession of food experiments. I like your pictures and idea of combining smoothie with oat bars–plus the oat bars sounded really good. I just found a recipe for a rhubarb salad dressing and have been trying every fruit from pie cherries, to apricots and blueberries pureed into a salad dressing. Think I’ll try a lavender-apricot dressing today. Food is more fun when you experiment with it.

    • Rebecca says:

      Yum Debra! Let me know how the lavender apricot dressing goes! Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about mixing fruit with herbs. I have been thinking about experimenting with a fruit pie with some sort of herb….like rosemary, or thyme, or maybe lavender? Liiiiiiikkkkeee maaayyybbeeee…….whole wheat rosemary peach pie? blueberry thyme? I don’t know! I’ll be sure and post if I get brave and experiment a whoooooole pie with it! 🙂

  2. Lindsay says:

    YES! I love the secret twists… bread/wheat/grains are always better dipped anyway, right?!!


Leave a Reply

